Skip to content

{a touching thank you…children’s portrait session. napa valley}

I often get wonderful ‘thank you’s after weddings or portrait sessions but this one was especially touching! I thought that I may share her story. But first…the images.  *Click here for slideshow * Please read the story below after viewing her delightful smile! Hopefully it will give any parent struggling with a preemie  a bit of hope!

Hi Briana -These totally made me CRY!!! You really captured the spirit of my daughter…I have a hard time doing that – she’s so funny, but her moments are so fleeting. THANK YOU for such an amazing job! 2.2 lbs

I had to share the attached pics with you so that you know why I am so moved by your art. Arianna was born at 27 weeks and weighed 2.2 pounds at birth. She was what they call a micro-preemie. She lived in a neo-natal intensive care unit (NICU) for 3 months before we could take her home and nearly died many many times during her stay at the hospital – sometimes when I was just holding her outside of her isolette. We were told to brace ourselves for the worst as she had lung disease & scarring of her lung tissue (due to prematurity) and would periodically go into respiratory failure, may have neurological disorders and will probably experience some degree of disability (physical, emotional, behavioral) for the rest of her life.

She was my miracle in so many different ways – as you can see from recently photographing her, she is a healthy, happy and perfectly “normal” kid. Thank you so much for capturing these shots of her. I know that as a photographer you’ve probably seen/photographed a million cute kids over the years – I just wanted you to know how your art really touches people and what a special gift you have.

Thank you! I am looking forward to working with you again in the near future!

Leave a Reply

