Skip to content

hola nicaragua

The strength of photography lies in its ability to evoke a sense of humanity. If it is used well, it is a powerful ancedote in the war aganist all injustices.

Well the countdown has begun before our Nicaragua trip. I have mentioned the trip to many of you and thought I’d explain more here. 

I recently saw a movie called ‘War Photographer’; a documentary about a photographer who has made it his life’s work to expose global injustices of war and poverty. His words resonated with my long-range aspirations in photography.  “My goal  is to create images that are powerful enough to overcome the deluding effects of mass media and shake people up from their indifference.” – James Nachtwey  In the words of my husband, “Once people know, how can they look the other way?”

In two weeks, we will be traveling to a small village in the center of Nicaragua. During this trip, I will be visiting and photographing the people that live in these smaller surrounding villages. I am humbeled to be taking my camera into such conditions and hope that I can use my images to increase awareness and hope. It is times like these when I am reminded how small our world is and it is far too easy to close the door; close our minds off to the world that we do not see everyday.

Some of my images will be aiding Clínica Verde , a non-profit creating an environmentally sustainable prototype for a health clinic in Nicaragua that can be replicated throughout the world.  Find out more here: www.clinicaverde.com 

Upon our return we will be hosting some fundraising events at Clark-Claudon this summer. The first event is a cycling event:Wildflowers & Wine Ride, leaving from the Clark-Claudon ranch and ending in an awesome Napa Valley picnic. Please join us.

For about ten years my family has been involved with this small  village in Nicaragua. They have helped to build homes, a park & baseball feild as well as help in the local schools and  the clinic. They have funded multiple children to go to school including many girls into university. ( A goal far too often un-attainable in a poverty-striken area.) One particular girl has gone from a shack with black plastic for walls, all the way to university. This spring we will visit her in a ‘real’ home with her husband and new baby. All proceeds from this event will go to students in such dire situations. It is so easy to make a life-changing impact; I give kudos to all who are choosing to do so.

I look forward to sharing the images with you and thank you in advance for any involvement you care to have.

If you would like to help by sponsoring a child or donating to ClinicaVerde, please contact me. briana@brianamariephotography.com, or go to http://www.change.org/nonprofits/view/96728

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

